Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Max recommended discharge rate for batteries

Hello,

I have 8 Trojan SPRE 06 415 in series for 48V. According to the spec sheet the maximum charge rate should be a tad below 50A (13% of 377 = 49.01), but for discharge rate it only specifies up to C10, which is 34.6A.

IMG_20190831_083208.jpg

If I have a load that needs more power than that for a short time (eg. 10-15 minutes), will it damage the batteries? Is there a recommended maximum Amp draw?

I'm new to PV systems and batteries, so I'm a bit lost there.

A short 3 second peak draw, to start a motor or something is not a problem for the battery, but it may be a problem for the wiring to the inverter, depending on the loss involved there.

More than a minute over the recommended discharge spec, and the battery voltage is likely to quickly sag and cause an inverter fault.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister

Comment

I'm taking more about a sustained current draw of a few minutes a bit over the specced max discharge rate, like 10% more. Will that cause any battery damage?

Comment