Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • cvick
    • Jul 2017

Wiring Lighting w/ Series or Not?

Hello guys, I just joined this forum for advice and guidance. I am very new to solar and off grid systems and will be asking for some basic assistance along the way. I just purchased a very small off grid cabin and am looking to install solar mainly for lighting. The basic design I am using should have plenty of additional power for my simple needs.

1. First off, when running 12v direct from the battery to the lights, is there a need for a special light bulb? I have read contradicting information. Can I not just use a standard 120v AC fixture and a standard 120v LED light bulb? Is there any downside to this? Can I put a standard 120v dimmer switch on a 12v system like this as well?

2. In reference to the actual wiring, I am wishing to install several lights independently of one another, ie. one in bathroom, two in kitchen, three in living area etc. Is it advised to try and run all lights on a series with a single positive wire connecting all lights within the cabin then back to the battery/charge controller and then use independent switches for each light? Or can I run independent wiring to each light and then back to the battery/charge controller? If the second is an option, how do I splice 4-5 separate independent lights into one positive at the charge controller?

Thank You,

VICK
    Attached Files
  • ButchDeal
    Solar Fanatic
    • Apr 2014

You will either need an inverter or to use DC 12V LEDs such as those available for RVs.
    You will need fuses as well appropriate to the wire and loads.
    What is the wire run length going to be? have you though about voltage drop in this situation?
    You don't want to wire the lights up to the output leg of the ChargeController. Instead you will want a DC breaker box attached to the battery for the fuses mentioned before.