X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tperk
    • Apr 2017

Solar Truck Vent

I am a newbie to solar.

I am planning to install two computer case type fans just barely inside (so that I can still open and close window) of the rear sliding window of my truck. The purpose is to keep inside temp down so that my dash cam stops failing and to simply have a lower and more tolerable cab temp after parking in the sun. I am trying to determine:

- how to set up and run fans off of thermostat set to about 85 degrees.
    - how to power the fans. My truck is diesel and has two in parallel batteries. I wonder if I can get by without a solar panel. The truck typically sits in the sun without being started up for a week at a time.
    - OR I could power fans from truck and use a solar charger to keep the truck batteries charged.....if needed.
    - OR I could use a separate smaller battery with a solar charger.
    - I imagine the 12v fans would draw less than 1 amp each, probably a max of about 2 amp combined.

Before I go about this in my typical "try things until they work" modus operandi, I would appreciate some suggestions on how to do this correctly.

Thanks much
  • soleram
    • Aug 2016

I am not sure what you mean by "computer case type fans", if these are 12v. fan for a desktop or computer tower, that may be too small.
    For my truck, I have a 12v fan https://goo.gl/Prn7BZ small and powerful enough , and just plugged-in the 12v. socket.
    Works well.

Comment

• J.P.M.
      Solar Fanatic
      • Aug 2013

I'd start by getting the camera off the dash and out of direct sunlight.

Comment

• tperk
        • Apr 2017

What's the point in having a dash cam if it needs to be removed every time I park in the heat?