Solar Charge Controller Issues!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Solar Charge Controller Issues!

Well, let me start by introducing myself! My name is Will. I am new to SolarPanelTalk.com and would appreciate any insight into this issue. I was on several other forums but they are very inactive...this one seems to thrive!

Okay my setup is as follows:
    2-Deka Marine Masters(DC27) batteries.
    1-Steca LCD30 Charge Controller
    1-Solarex MSX 60 watt PV Module.
    wiring is "trailer entrance wire" 02 guage (30 feet to the charge controller and 10 to the batteries).

my system runs a number of small LED lights and a indoor car stereo system complete with 100 watt amp, and subwoofer. It has worked flawlessly for years now. Recently upgraded the single battery to the pair of Deka batteries and tested the system. Noticed two things. One, the panel at night produces about .5 volts but when hooked to the controller the reading jumps to 1.4V or so, <does this mean it is back feeding the panel from the batteries?>This particular controller is supposed to NOT do that at all. Two, the load terminals work like they are supposed to when on, but I noticed that there is 7.6 volts of power on the terminals even when the controller says that load is off. Something I was told just the other day is that I should use the stereo system on the battery side not the load side since it could draw more than 10 amps and the controller is setup to have up to 10 amps on the load side. However, that does not explain why these anomalies are occurring. Please advise.

Any tips are appreciated.

William
    Chloe, WV.

If you apply too large of a load for the controller to manage on the LOAD TERMINALS, the controller can be damaged internally, The manuals usually explain the load limits