Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Delkancott
    • Nov 2016

Solar Possible for a Farmstand?

I am a newb. I have been reading online trying to get a clear answer, but am having difficulty finding it. This is all started from wanting to run a few solar lights at a farmstand for late season, night shopping, but seems to have morphed into more. Now, im curious if I can run a small fridge for selling eggs and/or a chest freezer off solar. I have met with an electrician and I'm on the fence whether I pay an electricitian $3-4K and deal with the utility to tie into the grid, or dump that into solar, but I guess I need to know if it's reasonable to run lights, a fridge and possibly a freezer off solar?

The stand is about 10x20 facing due south, no obstructions. Also, there's room beside it. Located in MA.
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

If you can run Grid power to the stand, for less than $20K, do it. Otherwise, panels, lights, batteries, security system to guard it, is going to cost you roughly $20K if you want to power a fridge too.
    Last edited by SunEagle; 11-28-2016, 10:21 AM. Reason: modified true cost of solar
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister

Comment

• Wy_White_Wolf
      Solar Fanatic
      • Oct 2011

Do a full workup on how much power you will need in watt-hours or kilowatt-hours daily. I find it usually runs between $2500 to $3500 per kilowatt-hour you need daily for an off grid system.

Comment