Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Algonam
    • Aug 2016

Electromagnetic radiation - looking for info

Hi, I'm new to this and am considering going to solar if we can produce enough safe electricity to keep us going. We're currently off grid and considering an off grid system with an automatic generator backup. Our concern is lack of information on the level of harmful electromagnetic radiation given off by the inverter and any other parts to these systems. I keep hearing about this but don't know how this EMR from a solar set up compares to everyday EMR from cell phones, cordless phone, microwave ovens, wifi, cell towers etc.
    Any and all info is appreciated.
  • SunEagle
    Super Moderator
    • Oct 2012

Based on the IEEE requirements for all US equipment which are required to have UL listings, solar inverters will not produce any harmful EMR. You will get more harmful radiation standing outside under the sun without using any type of sun block or protective clothing.

Anything you have heard about harmful EMR being emitted from solar inverter equipment comes from people that do not understand the technology and are easily scared or misled because of that lack of knowledge.

Comment

• solarix
      Super Moderator
      • Apr 2015

The people fearful of EMR can't prove that it is harmful. The manufacturers can't prove it is not harmful - therefore the controversy.
      My considered opinion (and I used to work as an avionics EMI tech) is that I wouldn't worry about it.
      I can tell you that the EMI from solar equipment is low frequency unlike the very high frequencies used by cell phones etc.
      There are a lot of things in this modern world to be fearful of (Donald Trump/Hillary Clinton/ etc) - EMI from solar equipment is not one of them
      BSEE, R11, NABCEP, Chevy BoltEV, >3000kW installed

Comment

• bcroe
        Solar Fanatic
        • Jan 2012