Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Grid tied inverters in off grid configuration.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grid tied inverters in off grid configuration.

OK, here is another one from total beginner. Thinking out of the box here.

Has anyone successfully utilised grid tie type of inverter in off grid application. Being hooked up directly to battery bank and run loads that way.
    Reason why I am asking this is because there are so many more available to chose from in 36V DC world than in off grid 36V DC world.
    Before I pull the trigger on el cheapo unit I was looking if anyone has successful experience to share. Such a case would open up whole new world of possibilities for me.
    Second reason is that some of the grid tie type of inverters by default can run on a range of voltages(22 to 60V). This would also have positive impact to flexibility of my off grid system. 24-36-48 volts battery banks for example.

Thanks!
    Last edited by SIGP2101; 04-04-2016, 05:45 PM.

Originally posted by SIGP2101 View Post
    Has anyone successfully utilised grid tie inverters in off grid application.
    Sure, that is quite possible with both AC coupled and hybrid systems. Not sure why you would want to do that, but it will work.
    Being hooked up directly to battery bank and run loads that way.
    OK that's the opposite of what you just asked.

1 Standard off grid system: solar drives charge controller which charges batteries. Batteries store energy. Inverter converts DC battery power to AC power.

2 Standard on grid system: Solar drives inverter. Inverter converts DC to AC power and puts it directly on the grid.

3 Hybrid system: solar drives charge controller which charges batteries. Batteries store energy. Inverter converts DC battery power to AC power. When connected to the grid, inverter also sends power back to the grid once the batteries are full.