Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • solar_jeff
    • Oct 2015

Inverter Power Draw

Hi everyone. I'm pretty new with solar power and all so I apologize if I get something wrong in this post. I'm interested in setting up a small off grid solar power system to use to run some things in my apartment. I want to use two 100 watt 12V panels, a 30 amp charge controller, a 2000 watt inverter, and two 125AH batteries wired in parallel . I've been doing a lot of research on solar energy and was able to answer most of my questions. The problem I'm having is using the inverter. I'm building this system to mostly power an air conditioner. The air conditioners power needs are 115 Volts, 8 Amps, and 950 watts. I originally had thought that the batteries with a combined 250AH would power the unit for approximately 30 Hours, in reality it will never run for that long anyway. I was going off of that until a friend of mine said that the inverter would draw 166 Amps. Does that mean I need to add the 166 Amps plus the 8 Amps which is 174 Amps? If that is true it would mean that instead of lasting 30 hours it would only last a little over one?

Thanks,
    Jeff
  • lkruper
    Solar Fanatic
    • May 2015

Originally posted by solar_jeff