X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ErikHoppy
    • May 2014

Mobile Recording Studio Completely Solar Powered - General Questions

Hi all,

I'm a musician/recording engineer/voice over artist planning to build an off-grid solar powered studio in an RV or box truck. I'll drive around the country recording bands and myself while sleeping in the vehicle. Basically, a bedroom and studio on wheels.

Before I spend any more time planning this, I need a realistic estimate on if it's even possible and how much it would cost to create a solar/battery array.

Power Consumption:
    LED Lighting: 100w
    Computer/Screen: 200w
    Studio Monitors: 300w
    Amp/Keyboard/Misc: 100w

TOTAL: 700w needing to run MAX of 10 hours/day, if I have a full day session booked. This is the max, average would be half that or less, since I'd use headphones and laptop for personal use, thus only using 200-300w of equipment on an average day. But, I need to be sure that my system could potentially book out a full week at 10 hours/day at 700w and recharge daily. 700w x 10hours = 7,000WH per day MAX

Planned Solar/Battery System:
    4x 400AH 6v batteries = 800AH @ 12v = 9600WH
    4x 220w 12v panels
    1000w 12v inverter
    Hardware, Charge Controller, etc.

Total Cost: $3,000 or so

-Will 9600WH give me enough juice without completely draining the batteries? I read on this forum that up to 80% drain is acceptable and 80% of 9,600WH is 7,680WH, thus giving me enough juice for 700w for 10 hours, yes?

-Will 880watts of solar panels recharge the batteries daily, in summer sun?

I have never worked with solar before and sure could use some help in planning the proper setup. Am I way off?

I truly appreciate any help and I am very eager to learn!
  • Sunking
    Solar Fanatic
    • Feb 2010

Originally posted by ErikHoppy
    10 hours/day at 700w.

Planned Solar/Battery System:
    700w x 10hours = 7,000WH per day MAX
    4x 400AH 6v batteries = 800AH @ 12v = 9600WH
    4x 220w 12v panels