Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • satorizero
    • May 2013

Solar Power + Car/SUV, power laptop

Hello, I am new to this site and thought I could get help here . I am also fairly new to solar setups, but I know the basics about having a charge controller, MPPT vs regular ones, differences in solar panel types and about general setups.

I am currently living in my Jeep and would like to use my laptop and car stereo for extended periods of time because I like to watch movies and such.

I would like to know what the best setup would be to power those two things for at least a half a day straight (12+hours) using solar panels mounted to my Jeep Cherokee rooftop.

I would like to also know about:
    -Using my car battery versus a secondary battery
    -Is there a difference in using multiple panels versus 1 large panel besides the obvious reasons (space and power limit)?
    -If I use multiple panels do I only need ONE charge controller or do I use one CC per panel? (im pretty sure I only use one CC but wanted to check)
    -Also please add what gauge wires for the setup you suggest

So from all my research, I basically think my setup would be like this but I'm not sure which is why I'm here:

1, Buy three or four 10w Solar Panels (about $30 each) and secure them to my roof on my Jeep
    2, Connect those panels in parallel to a charge controller (I can get an MPPT one for $12 on ebay)
    3, Connect the CC to the car battery using a high wattage/high temp diode on the + of the CC as well as one on the alternator
    4, Connect my Cobra 400w inverter which I already own to the cigarette lighter and connect my laptop to that.

My laptop says 65w on the cable/brick that is for charging it.
    Its a HP DV600.

Right now with nothing I seem to be able to use the laptop for a couple hours with the stereo blasting before the Cobra starts warning me, so I need to stop using it so much until I get this solar setup.

Thank you all in advance!