Do these batteries look appropriate? Great deal.

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • rw3iss
    • Apr 2018

Do these batteries look appropriate? Great deal.

Heyas, I was talking to some suppliers on Alibaba, and ended up finding a great price for some NMC Lithium Ion cells.
    Here they are: https://www.alibaba.com/product-deta...693596464.html

The quoted price is $354 for a 12V 160Ah cell. That seems pretty amazing and is the cheapest I've found.
    Cost breakdown:
    12V 160Ah = 1920Wh = $354 ($184/kwh)
    48V = (above * 4) = 7680Wh = $1416
    15.36kwh = $2832

The person I'm talking to tells me they're used for solar charging of utility poles, and maybe not appropriate for off-grid storage, but to me, they look like any other NMC Li-Ion cell, though I am by no means an expert.
    Does anyone see any possible downside to using these in series for a 48V off-grid system that would draw a maximum of 500W-750W or so of power at a time, or in general? The specs say the maximum discharge power is 40W, so maybe that is what will kill the deal, but I'm not sure myself.

• Sunking
    Solar Fanatic
    • Feb 2010

ROFL. Is this a joke?
    MSEE, PE

Comment

• rw3iss
      • Apr 2018

What, you or my message?

Comment

• Mike90250
        • May 2009

I'd say considering the batteries you linked to, is a joke.
        Only rated 2000 cycles, small capacity, no easy way to parallel, no BMS no no NO !

And definitely NO for a starter system. Almost a guarantee for failure.

if you tell us what you are wanting to do, maybe we can help, but for starting out, not this.
        Last edited by Mike90250; 04-11-2018, 12:48 PM.