Is LiFePO4 the same as LiPo?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is LiFePO4 the same as LiPo?

Sorry is this is a stupid question, but I've had LiPo batteries in my RC cars for some time now (used to be NiMh) and a few weeks back converted my electric bike to also run on LiPo batteries which has dramatically increased the range of it. So I'm pretty familiar with the requirements of LiPo battery management and charging. Therefore my thoughts have turned to whether or not I could use the same technology to store the excess power of my solar. I'm going to do a load of reading on hear before I go any further, but if someone could answer this simple question it would really help a lot. Is LiFePO4 the same as LiPo?

These are the battery packs I use in the RC cars and the e-bike:

http://www.hobbytown.com/Shop/VNR150...niversal-Plug/

No they are not the same. Ironically what you call LiPo, I am an RC pilot and use the same batteries, are not really a polymer battery as the name implies because the electrolyte in them is gelled rather than a thin plastic polymer. The reason for this the extremely high charge and discharge rates use din RC batteries. Today you can find 100C just about everywhere. The LiPo you use also have a fairly high energy density of 140 to 160 wh/Kg. Their big disadvantages are cycle life, expense, and safety. Depending on quality of the battery have a cycle life of 150 to 400 cycles, cost are very high from 60-cents per watt hour on the low end and up to $3 per wh on the high end for 100C cells. In addition to keep weight down nearly all of them are Pouch design coupled with high energy density make them fairly dangerous. Many a fires have been documented charging them, and easily punctured which also leads to fires in crashes. Additionally the voltage of LiPo cells nominal voltage is 3.7 volts which does not really work well as 3S is 11.1 volts, 4S is 14.8 volts and so on does dot fit a 12 volt world.