X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • agenthex
    • Jun 2013

LiFePO4 controller + inverter

Hi, everyone! I'm a newbie, and this is my first post here:

I'm looking to fit a work truck with solar panels, batteries, a charge controller, and an AC inverter. I wouldn't mind buying parts separately, but I must make sure they will work together.

I intend to use LiFePO4 batteries for their energy density. From what I understand I need the following components:

Charge controller (MPPT)
    Batteries (LiFePO4)
    Inverter (with LVC)
    Solar panels

My question is this: does a combination charge controller and inverter exist? If I use a standard inverter, how do I protect the batteries from low voltage? Does a charge controller have DC outputs to go to an inverter? Is there a better option? What is the cost of such a device? Are there any limitations I should keep in mind (max number/voltage of PV panels, max number of batteries, etc.)?

Ideally, such a device would also allow AC grid charging when mains is available.

Thanks in advance for your help and advice!
  • Sunking
    Solar Fanatic
    • Feb 2010

You are SOL, there are no charge controllers for LiPo batteries.

There is a better option in a vehicle. You don't need solar. All you need is an Auxiliary AGM battery, and a battery isolator to keep it charged via the vehicle alternator. Your alternator can provide more power in 30 minutes than a week of solar panels.

Also no inverters that work well with LiPo batteries. A 3 cell voltage is a little too low, and 4 cell is way too high.
    MSEE, PE

Comment

• inetdog
      Super Moderator
      • May 2012

Originally posted by Sunking
      Also no inverters that work well with LiPo batteries. A 3 cell voltage is a little too low, and 4 cell is way too high.