Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • SirHund
    • Jul 2018

Are my batteries toast?

So yes to get started here I am new to solar but have on and off studied it over the years. I jumped in head first 6 months ago and love it. I have pretty well just been experimenting to see what works.

I managed to acquire some 12v marine batteries from salvage and revive them to a pretty even balance. I am currently using 12 marine batteries that were paralleled but now are run in a 24volt series. They are charged with 4 renogy 100 watt panels also series and 4 Photowatt 50w panels in series.

Question is that on my Renogy Rover 40a CC once the sun goes down....the charge will read out between a 25.1 and a 25.5. I would assume this means my batteries are maintaining a charge but that charge is on the very low end of a life cycle. Is this correct?

also yes I am upgrading to 6 volt batteries just searching out what is best for that type of battery yet cost effective.
  • organic farmer
    Solar Fanatic
    • Dec 2013

Originally posted by SirHund
    ... Question is that on my Renogy Rover 40a CC once the sun goes down....the charge will read out between a 25.1 and a 25.5. I would assume this means my batteries are maintaining a charge but that charge is on the very low end of a life cycle. Is this correct?
    At the end of each day of charging your battery-bank ends with a charge between 25.1 and 25.5vdc, a 90% SOC and a 95% SOC.

If we can assume that your specific gravities are good and even. I would be focused on system loads and how much power you are producing during the day. Some power goes to the loads and some goes to your batteries. Are you sure your batteries are getting enough charge?

4400w, Midnite Classic 150 charge-controller.

Comment

• SirHund
      • Jul 2018