Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What, if there is one, is the conversion between AC and DC amps?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What, if there is one, is the conversion between AC and DC amps?

greetings all, first post. be patient.

I'm looking over the spec sheet of the tesla powerwall and it's boasting 14 kWh @ 50V. The aH doesn't seem that different than other batteries, but I'm confused on the 14kWh capacity. Is there a conversion between AC and DC amps they are using to claim 14kWh will run a 2-bedroom abode for a x period? I know, I know, it depends on watt hours, but it just seems like an inflated claim until I know the method used.

I'm just getting started--looking at a way to combine a small 2-axis array with a portable gas gen to weather the outages we've had here in Houston during the storms. "burst" generator usage and some simple battery storage to keep two fridges running about 7 hours each day and periodic use of one HVAC (and some random LED kitchen lights).

But, amp conversion--the impetus for the post.

thanks, and I'm researching the archives now too.

Originally posted by thirtywest View Post

I'm looking over the spec sheet of the tesla powerwall and it's boasting 14 kWh @ 50V. The aH doesn't seem that different than other batteries, but I'm confused on the 14kWh capacity. Is there a conversion between AC and DC amps they are using to claim 14kWh will run a 2-bedroom abode for a x period? I know, I know, it depends on watt hours, but it just seems like an inflated claim until I know the method used.

I'm just getting started--looking at a way to combine a small 2-axis array with a portable gas gen to weather the outages we've had here in Houston during the storms. "burst" generator usage and some simple battery storage to keep two fridges running about 7 hours each day and periodic use of one HVAC (and some random LED kitchen lights).