Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• solar panel/battery bank balancing questions

Hi...New member here.
    I am pretty much self taught in this area so i am open to opinions and lessons learned. I recently purchased a small off grid cabin that was wired for AC and runs with a 3000W generator. Not a fan of background noise and lugging gas cans so i decided that i would supplement my set-up with some solar. The cabin has 6-7 led lights, coffee maker, computer/monitor and a shallow well pump. Fridge and stove are propane as is the hot water heater. So my challenge is the well pump (jet) so i found an old piston pump and reduced the motor to 1/6hp that draws about 240W. I have not yet purchased panels as we are in winter here in Canada and the cabin is already unaccessible. I started to source the rest of the materials needed and got a 40amp charge controller (12/24V), 3000W inverter/charger (12V). I found 2 sets of four 6v (230Ah) deep cycle batteries wired in series/parallel that deliver 12V. So it look like i have locked myself into 12V. According to my calculations i have 920Ah of battery capacity so i should be ok to take care of my needs including the well pump. Since i only plan on using the cabin on weekends I was told that I would only need about 1000-1200W of solar panels. In my reading...I am wondering if I may have too much battery capacity for my planned solar to deliver and keep my batteries healthy? Should i add more panels? Perhaps the generator can help equalize batteries occasionally and avoid sulfation? Any advice would be appreciated?

You have a few issues with your equipment.

With 1000 - 1200watts of panels you are going to need more than a 40amp CC for a 12v system. Simple math would be to divide the panel wattage by the battery voltage. ie. 1000w / 12v = 83 amps.

Next with a 3000 watt inverter connected to a 12V battery the wires can see 250 amps (3000w / 12v = 250a) which would require very big wires and fuses.