Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Tool Battery Possible as Battery Bank for Solar?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tool Battery Possible as Battery Bank for Solar?

Hi guys, it's my first time posting here and I know that this might seem like a weird question but I have to ask because recently Li-ion powered tools seem to be increasingly cheaper to buy -> which means that their batteries are cheaper too while packing a large punch. That being said, I see that Lowe's/ Home Depot brands sell various 40/60/80V tool brands and these batteries regularly carry 2-4KWh capacities for only $100-200 so I am wondering if these - matched with the correct inverter - could be used as a battery bank because they are all just basic Li-ion batteries right and meant to undergo heavy discharges - because what homeowner actually stops when there is only 2 bars of 4 on the battery indicator? Sure, the chargers that come with them stop charging when they are full but wouldn't a charge controller do the same thing? Right now I am in the midst of expanding my solar 450W to a 950W system and I was looking at alternative battery solutions to go along with the added charging capacity as I don't have a hookup to utility power with the panels (they power a single breaker including my room) and it seemed like I could not find people discussing this other than getting a solar charging system on trucks for charging their tool batteries for a jobsite.

Thanks for the help,
    Jayson

Not compatible, and no real cycle life.