Running LED's with batteries. The most efficient way?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • marcz62
    • Mar 2016

Running LED's with batteries. The most efficient way?

Hello everyone. I just started reading a few of the posts on this forum and I am feeling really under educated, but that is why I am here. To learn. I little about myself, I am an artist, jeweler, and future sculptor. My wife and I sell our work at fine art fairs around the United States.

For years I have been fascinated with LED technology and solar, in the context of display and possibly sculpture itself. I am trying to find a way of getting a more time out of my batteries to light my display when I am at an art show. Right now I have to take my batteries back to my hotel room each night recharge them. And if anyone would know how to do this the correct and most efficient way, it would be people who know the ins and outs of battery usage.

Currently for a show I take Two deep cell marine batteries, jumper cables, and 10 small led strip lights, 10- 12volt, 7w LED MR16 fixtures in regular track lights. My set up is simple, I connect the two batteries in parallel, I connect all of the lights via. the track lights directly to the batteries. I have removed the 110v transformers in each of the low voltage fixtures so I am running 12v with out the loss of using an inverter to raise the voltage and then drop it again to the 12v required by the LED's. I am wondering if this was the right thing to do. I need to run more lights, brighter lights and I really do not want to lug more than 2 batteries all over the country. So a long story for a few questions, and any help you can give I would really appreciate it.

1. Is there such a thing as a 12 volt DC to 12 Volt AC converter? The lights work with AC as well as DC, My thought is that when I run all of these light the wires get a little warm. Nothing close to a fire hazard but that has got to be a bit of a loss in efficiency.