Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone willing to review my 12V DC system design?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone willing to review my 12V DC system design?

Hello - I'm new here. Thank you in advance for checking out my post.
    Although I have some general knowledge of electronics (engineering background) this is all VERY much new to me.

I am converting a van (econoline 150 base) and it will be outfitted with a very modest 100w solar setup (alongside a 20A DC to DC charger).
    The system will be 12V DC ONLY and not be supporting very many components. (12V fridge, a couple outlets, a couple LED lights and fan).
    The system will be anchored by a 200Ah AGM battery and will travel mainly in southern California.

I realize time is our most precious resource, therefore I am extremely grateful for any feedback anyone can provide on the attached diagram.

Lastly - One QUESTION I'm not sure about is;
    Assuming the starter battery is sufficiently grounded to the chassis, is that sufficient ground for the entire system?
    (The starter battery will be connected to the system via the DC to DC charger)

Thank you so much and I look forward to any input! ​​​​​​​

Quick Note about the diagram:
    - Pictures (pretty much) represent the actual hardware I purchased
    - Yes, I went on a little Renogy shopping spree
    - Some wire text is in red, only indicating to myself that they have not been purchased yet

Latest Wiring v3_20210827.PNG

It looks pretty good.

A MRBF fuse may not be a good choice for a main battery fuse. I like lithium because of the high possibility of delivering huge amounts of amps. Because of the possibility, a fuse rated high for

Please don't use the breakers you have listed if these are audio or unbranded. Those do not hold up well for solar installs. I like DC midnitesolar circuit breaker.