Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • LawrenceP
    • Nov 2020

My first Off grid solar system

Hey everyone, I'm a newbie when it comes to designing solar systems. However, I am very much interested in learning what is required to have a proper functioning setup. For this I would definitely need some assistance. Basically I'm putting together a system to power a small fridge. I already have 2x 100W panels from HSTQ, Renogy Rover 20A controller, connecting cables from panels to controller. I know I need the power rating of the fridge. I want to assume power draw is under 280KW/year. I need help now in choosing the battery. I can get 6v 232Ah US AGM deep cycle. I'm thinking I need 2 of these in series to produce a 12v system. Can anyone tell me if i'm on the right track and what other information I need to consider. Thanks.
  • chrisski
    Solar Fanatic
    • May 2020

Really need the draw of the fridge.

This needs to be pretty precise with an energy audit. For my energy needs, I found leaving my inverter on all day at idle draws 288 wh. That's 105 kwh a year, or a bit more than a third of that 280 kwh you want.

When choosing batteries, you need to plan for days without clouds, and short winter days. Here is a very good explanation: Solar Off-Grid Battery Design - Solar Panels - Solar Panels Forum (solarpaneltalk.com). A quick summary is if you live in Tucson, you're better off than when you live in Seattle where the days are a lot shorter, but in each case, a grid powered battery back up system is much more expensive than grid power (7 times the grid price for Tucson or 22 times the grid price for Seattle).

So, you need to be very careful about how you design it or you'll easily have an underpowered system and kill your batteries or Overdesign it, which is hard to overdesign taking into account how expensive stuff is.

Comment

• MichaelK!
      Solar Fanatic
      • Jul 2015