X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Rummage
    • Dec 2019

Please review my setup

Hi all,

Im currently putting together a solar setup for a small camper van conversion. We've calculated we'll need about 65 amp hours / day max.
    The setup thus far:

Solar - Wansun 200w 12v mono
    (V) 18.9
    (A) 10.6
    15A
    OCV 22.68
    SCC 11.4

Victron 75/15 MPPT Controller
    15A 12V
    max PV 220w
    max OCV 75v

Lithium 100ah Batt.

Victron 12v 375A Phoenix Inverter
    Cont power 300W
    Peak 700W
    DC low 10.9

Im still learning how these elements interact but with my limited understanding, these numbers all seem to work.
    I'd really appreciate if anyone could shed some light upon this for me!

Cheers
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

The 200w solar panel you list, would not need a MPPT controller. MPPT down converts high voltage PV strings, to battery voltage, saving expense in cables. In an RV, the distances are so short, and your system size small enough, MPPT is not needed. Generally over 300W, MPPT becomes useful.

I would NOT suggest your first battery being a LiIon. I'd suggest instead, a pair of 6V golf cart batteries wired for 12V

With a 200w panel, I would only expect 100w output, being flat on the roof, is a poor sun angle, and will have a reduced harvest. You will also have to park in full sun for 10 hours a day to meet your aH target, are you moving to the equator where you can get a good 6 hours ?

Skip the aH calculations, instead convert things to watt hours. 12V x 65 = 780wh 100w from PV x 4 hours = 400wh harvest.
    battery 12V x 190aH = 2,280wH ( or 2.3kwH )

You can use a smart battery isolator, to allow the vehicle engine to charge the house battery, and leverage that to make up for the losses of your small PV array, or add 2 more panels to your planned array. You could make a "sandwich board" to mount a panel onto and put the panel in the sun and run a cable to the charger.