Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • scrptdr
    • Apr 2019

Help please - first use of panel with rv results in smoke from inverter

So, I bought a Dokio 100watt folding suitcase type panel with a built in 10 amp controller to charge my rv deep cycle battery. It worked fine until I attached a sae extension cord (to have more options positioning panel as run provided was short) at which point I got smoke coming from the inverter. This seems like reversed polarity, how did my extension cord cause this? Right now I am charging the battery with original cable (w/o extension cord) but not sure if it is working right, though it seems to be charging the battery. I am a total newb at this (obviously). Ordered same exact controller since they're cheap and will probably replace it, but I'd like to know what I did wrong so I don't repeat it. Thanks for any input.
  • sdold
    • Jun 2014

That does sound like the polarity was reversed. If you don't have a multimeter, I suggest getting one so that you can check the cable polarity next time before making the connection, and so that you can measure things like the voltage on your battery to see if it's charging. You can also test the panel open-circuit voltage and short-circuit current (if the meter can read up to 10A, your panel will probably give you around 5A).
    Last edited by sdold; 08-11-2019, 12:08 AM.

Comment

• littleharbor
      Solar Fanatic
      • Jan 2016

Is the inverter connected directly to the battery? When did you see smoke? Did you possibly remove and reconnect the inverter with reversed polarity?
      2.2kw Suntech mono, Classic 200, NEW Trace SW4024

Comment

• scrptdr
        • Apr 2019

The smoke appeared after I put on the extension cord. The Rv's onboard inverter/charger is/was connected correctly, but was not plugged in at the time. I have to check if for some reason the cord reverses polarity.

Comment

• scrptdr
          • Apr 2019