X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Skwidward
    • Apr 2019

50 amp transfer switch with 30 amp RV?

Hi,

I'm preparing to install solar on my 19ft RV. I have 4x 100W panels, a 150V/35 amp solar charge controller, 3x 100 ah lithium batteries, and a 2000W inverter/charger with a built-in 50 amp transfer switch (the victron multi compact).

My question is regarding the 50 amp transfer switch. The RV I have only uses a 30 amp system. Will this transfer switch work when I plug into 30 amp shore power? And will it also work if I use an adapter and plug into 50 amp shore power? (I plan to wire the shore power line into the "AC in" part of the inverter).

I'm thinking that plugging into 30 amp will be ok, and that the 50 amp transfer switch will allow the 30 amps to travel on in as it should. However, I'm concerned that if I use an adapter and plug into 50 amp (I'm new to RVing, and this seems like something folks have to do now and then), this will allow 50 amps into my system and flip a breaker somewhere or worse. Is that right? Or does the adapter restrict the amperage to 30?
    Last edited by Skwidward; 04-06-2019, 08:33 AM.
  • Ampster
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jun 2017

No worries, the 50 Amps will stay where they are until you tell them to come on over. However the devil is in the details since you could plug in something or turn on something that causes them to come over your shore power and cook your switch.

Therefore you should have some circuit protection device such as a fuse or circuit breaker to protect your Victon inverter charger. That may be built into the equipment.
    9 kW solar, 42kWh LFP storage. EV owner since 2012

Comment

• Skwidward
      • Apr 2019

Originally posted by Ampster
      No worries, the 50 Amps will stay where they are until you tell them to come on over. However the devil is in the details since you could plug in something or turn on something that causes them to come over your shore power and cook your switch.