X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • CaptainEven
    • Mar 2018

Question about charge controller and panels

To whom it may concern:
    I am brand new to solar/PV systems and am hoping to gain some of your sage advice. My RV has no solar system or batteries and I am putting it together from scratch. I am hoping to effectively charge two Interstate GC2-ECL-UTL 6v 115mins @ 75 amps 225Ah @ 20hr batteries wired in series through the use of three 100 Watt 12 Volt Polycrystalline Solar Panels and using a CTEK D250S Dual Battery Charger 12V- 20a, 5 step, Heavy Duty. I recently became aware that this charge controller can only support up to 240W so I'm effectively limited to a maximum of three 100W solar panels. I am therefore curious to know if three panels will be sufficient to charge the batteries. I an very interested in the use of this charge controller as it can charge the interstate batteries while driving and automatically switch between solar and the vehicle alternator.

Should you think that this charge controller cannot possibly charge the batteries during the course of a "normal" day then I ask if you might have a suggestion as to a replacement.

Thank you.
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

The Dual part, is 2 charging sources are auto selected to recharge the house battery, this does not appear to charge the starting battery.

The troubling part is the Solar Panel input voltage, the spec limit is Input voltage 22v , yet your panel is 22.4v Might not work well, or it might

300w of well aimed solar should maintain 2 batteries, BUT it depends on how much you drain the batteries, and how well you expose the panels to sunlight
    Last edited by Mike90250; 03-05-2018, 03:45 AM.