Small 40w just to charge a RV battery

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Small 40w just to charge a RV battery

Newbie here, so hope there's no such thing as a stupid question.
    I currently have a 45w Harbor Freight 45w panel going to a cheap 20a Chinese CC to a 101ah battery that is solely used to only charge the battery no inverter or radio. Only Have the RV pos and neg leads connected to battery........................ Just got new nature power 40w panel today. It says 12v and voc is 21.3 . It came with a set of battery clamps. If I only want to solely charge the RV battery can I connect it straight to my battery OR should I connect it in parallel with the harbor freight panel "voc is like 21.6 or 23."and through the Pwm CC to the battery???

Sadly, what most folks don't know about the HF panels, is that the cardboard box is more useful then the panels are. The type of panel (amorphous) degrades rapidly in sunlight, and HF is not known for quality parts.
    But, you have a 45W and a 40w panel. Yes, you can connect them both to the battery at the same time.
    HF via the 20A controller.
    Can you discover if anywhere on the packaging, anything that says the 40W panel has a "Blocking Diode" anywhere ? even the cheapest of the cheap (HF) controllers have the blocking diode, and when you don't have one, at night, the battery can possibly discharge through the idle PV panel.
    It may be possible/preferable to parallel both panels at the 10A charge controller input, and let it manage everything.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||