Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • middysafloat
    • Jun 2016

Solar panels appear to be draining Batteries

I have just installed 4 X12V 140Wp Mono. panels in series connected to an MPPT controller. I also have an inverter/charger connected to the batteries which are 6 X 6v Trojan connected in series giving 720Ah.at 12V.

The problem I have is as soon as the panels are switched on for the MPPT to charge the batteries they appear to immediately start draining. Indications on the inverter monitor are that the SOC% drops, now I understand that the % is only a rough estimate but why would it reduce so rapidly.

I have checked the cables and voltages all appear correct. The panel monitor snapshot displays panel output as 0.46A, 92.97V and 42.78W. Battery status is normal and charging status is "boost charge" battery voltage is 13.37V, 3.25A there is zero load on the batteries.

I have always used the inverter/charger monitor to give me a reasonable idea of the SOC%.

I am no expert on Solar technology so can anyone help please, any suggestions will be gratefully received.

• Mike90250
    • May 2009

I'd suspect a bad charge controller, if it's from ebay, you are out of luck. Or take it back to the vendor for replacement.
    Most good MPPT controllers are first connected to the battery to begin their internal computer boot-up, and after a few minutes, you can connect the PV.

And on the odd chance you connected wires backwards, please double check the polarities with a volt meter, not the wire colors
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||