Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tombaxter
    • Mar 2016

Truck camping - need a lot of guidance

I will start out by stating the obvious, I need a lot of help figuring out what items I need to get this system up and running. I have tried to figure this out myself, and I am frustrated and feel clueless. I do have a lot of knowledge about different aspects of solar energy from my research, but I have zero organization of the knowledge and have no idea what is important and what is not important for my situation. I do not know where to start in order to get this system up and running.

My situation:
    I will be living out of my truck for the upcoming summer in some pretty extreme environmental conditions as part of a new "field" job. I have a Chevy Colorado with a 6 foot bed and a bed cap where I will sleep most nights.

My goals in order of priority:
    - Run a minifridge
    - Run a small space heater occassionally
    - Charge phone and lap top
    - Plug in a lamp
    - run these things one at a time, not simultaneously. I may be interested in charging my phone or lap top while running the fridge but not running the space heater at the same time as the fridge.

Equipment that I intend to use, please advise on this:
    - very thin, light weight style flexible 100 watt solar panel (do not know how many I need)
    - A 12 volt deep cycle battery (I only need it to work for this summer so I would prefer to save money and buy something that will work rather than something better if that is an option)
    - a solar charge converter (again do not know what type I need)
    - a battery inverter for plugging in appliances