Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • billthedog
    • Mar 2016

Problem with used solar panel:

I bought a panel about 5' by 3' with 72 cells, no glass damage.

At the junction box on the back are 4 terminals, (relative to the negative
    terminal) I can read 12 volts, 24 volts, and 36 volts.

But when I use a amp meter, (with or without a load in series) the meter reads zero. Tried a different meter, same thing.

Measuring across the 3 diodes in the junction box, same thing.

Good looking panel, no visable damage front or back, measurements taken
    with panel in full California sun.

I am a electronics hobbyist but this has me stumped. ?
  • sensij
    Solar Fanatic
    • Sep 2014

Are you measuring Isc (short circuit current)? You would take the plus lead of the panel, connect it through your ammeter to the minus lead. Current is very sensitive to irradiance, so your highest value should come on a clear day, at solar noon, with the panel oriented to be directly facing the sun.

CS6P-260P/SE3000 - http://tiny.cc/ed5ozx

Comment

• inetdog
      Super Moderator
      • May 2012

Originally posted by billthedog
      I bought a panel about 5' by 3' with 72 cells, no glass damage.

At the junction box on the back are 4 terminals, (relative to the negative
      terminal) I can read 12 volts, 24 volts, and 36 volts.

But when I use a amp meter, (with or without a load in series) the meter reads zero. Tried a different meter, same thing.

Measuring across the 3 diodes in the junction box, same thing.

Good looking panel, no visable damage front or back, measurements taken
      with panel in full California sun.

I am a electronics hobbyist but this has me stumped. ?