Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Ed Brown
    • Aug 2015

Can I charge a power box

Hi can I charge a power box (booster box) with a 40watt panel and 7a controller

Ed
  • inetdog
    Super Moderator
    • May 2012

Originally posted by Ed Brown
    Hi can I charge a power box (booster box) with a 40watt panel and 7a controller

Ed
    If the booster box has lead acid batteries, yes. Just very slowly.....
    If the booster box has Lithium batteries, then the 7A controller may well not have an appropriate voltage setting.
    SunnyBoy 3000 US, 18 BP Solar 175B panels.

Comment

• Ed Brown
      • Aug 2015

Originally posted by inetdog
      If the booster box has lead acid batteries, yes. Just very slowly.....
      If the booster box has Lithium batteries, then the 7A controller may well not have an appropriate voltage setting.
      How do I go about it do I wire derlictly from the 7a controller or do I need to go through a inverter. I'm very new to this. I haven't bought anything yet. I want to run 2 fans from the power box and have solar charging as the fans are running during sunny hot days. Is that possible with this set up

Ed

Comment

• jony101
        • Jun 2014

just connect directly from the controller to the battery, 40 watt panel only puts out 2 amps at max sun light. 2 amps wont hurt your booster pack. When I plug into the wall I use a 2 amp charger on my booster pack and you can charge some booster packs from your car cigarette lighter which can put out up to 15 amps. the booster pack will only take the amps it needs. The only thing that will harm the battery is high voltage, as long as you stay under 14.4 volts you will be ok. High voltage will force the battery to take more amps than it needs and it will boil the electrolyte.

I use to charge my 17 ah agm battery booster pack with my 120 watt panel without any problems, i've also connected my 240 watt panel and its 20 amp mppt controller to the same pack also without any issues.