X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • hemanthariyani
    • Aug 2015

Need help with configuring RV solar setup

Hello all,

This is my first time here and first time dealing with a solar setup. Looking forward to learning a lot from all of you.

I am planning to have a solar set up for my travel trailer. Here is what I have so far.

Solar panels: 10 x 130 Watts. (Rated Voltage = 18.9V, Rated Current = 6.9 Amps OCV = 24.6V, SSC=15Amps)
    Batteries: 4 x 6V (200-250AH - Eversys Datasafe HX800FR)

I am now looking at getting an inverter and a solar charger.

Any suggestions on how these should be configured?

Should I connect all batteries in series to get 24V or should I aim for a 12V setup? From what I have gathered so far, I will need a 24V 60Amp mppt charge controller with this setup. Not sure how 12V would work. Any suggestions on reasonably priced controllers?

I guess I will need to go for something like a 24V to 110V pure sine wave inverter. Any suggestions for reasonably priced options here?

Is there something like inverter, charger, charge controller combined into one unit?

My current plan is to have everything tie into 110V system of the RV and not change anything in the RV itself - at least to start with.

Any suggestions on the setup and how to make the best use of panels and batteries I have?

Regards
    Hemant
  • SunEagle
    Super Moderator
    • Oct 2012

Originally posted by hemanthariyani