Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • MagicMikeJ
    • Aug 2015

Adapter specs confusion

Hi, I am a newb to the solar panel club, doing my research before diving in. My situation is I'm looking to do some boon docking with our van and I'm obviously looking for some power options.

My main goal is to have a system good enough to power a 12v fan, maybe a few 12v lights and run at least one laptop. The fan would be all night to keep us ventilated, the lights in the evening hours before sleep, and the laptop, not sure..... some hours during the day maybe while the system is being charged, and maybe a couple hours on the battery to watch a movie or something before sleep. 2 laptops would be nice, but I am trying to keep the charging system as inexpensive and small as possible, so I'll be happy with one for now.

What's confusing me is how to figure the power draw of the laptop. I am looking at a 12v adapter for it, and these are the specs:

Max. Power Output: 90W
    Voltage Output: 19V
    Max. Current: 4.74A
    DC Input: DC 10-15v ~ 10A

Do I need to just worry about the 4.74A it's putting out, or 10A that it needs for input?

In looking at the AC adapter for the laptop, it says: Output is 18.5 v/3.5A (65W) and the input is: 100-240v/1.7A.

So I guess I have 2 questions here. Do I need to look at the input amps or the output amps for my calculations?

And the other would be would I be better off running the laptop on my 400W inverter?

It seems that AC always has a lower amp rating, but I'm under the assumption that running 12v stuff would drain the battery less than an inverter with AC stuff. I could be wrong, but I don't think so. Seems that punching that 12vdv up to 110 vac just by itself is going to use a bunch of power.

I'm hoping to get by with one panel, 100 or 150 watt and one battery, but the 90W and 10A has me a bit worried that it won't be enough?
    Follow Your Bliss - Joseph Cambell
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

Wow.