Panel Quality Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Panel Quality Question

I recently purchased two Goalzero Nomad 20 panels and out of the package I noticed almost all the panels had what I would call imperfections in the contacts and wondering if I should be concerned about the quality of manufacturing. I looked through pictures on-line and couldn't find what I have on my units and told by manufacture this is normal.

I would assume that I shouldn't see these additional lines running through random locations and that all the cell patterns should be uniform. Would this type of imperfection be something to worry about regarding performance or longevity of the panels?

Nomad20-1.jpg
    Nomad20-2.jpg
    Nomad20-3.jpg
    Nomad20-5.jpg
    Nomad20-4.jpg

To me it looks suspiciously like corrosion of the deposited wiring layers on the top of the cells. I think that I see more missing lines than extra lines.
    But I have no direct experience to back that up.

What are the specs of the panels?
    SunnyBoy 3000 US, 18 BP Solar 175B panels.

Comment

Originally posted by inetdog View Post
      To me it looks suspiciously like corrosion of the deposited wiring layers on the top of the cells. I think that I see more missing lines than extra lines.
      But I have no direct experience to back that up.

What are the specs of the panels?
      Forgive my misuse of terminology but are you referring to corrosion of the black laminate or covering of the panels and interconnects? The panels are inside a plastic and nylon housing. They ship with a rather poor "protective film" that peels off unevenly and based on previous reports it used to be worse and would rip apart while trying to peel off. Below that surface is the plastic cover which comes pre-scuffed in different areas as seen in some of my photos.

Specs:
      18-22V Monocrystalline 20W rated
      http://www.goalzero.com/creative/ass...omad20_ENG.pdf