Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Off grid Autonomy: Why not increase Solar Panels?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Off grid Autonomy: Why not increase Solar Panels?

Hello everyone

I am a novice in off-grid and have just started learning about system sizing. So please excuse me if the question below seems too foolish.

While designing an off-grid system with autonomy, why do we only increase the battery size and not the number of panels? For a 2 day autonomy, for example, we double the batteries, but leave the number of panels the same. It doesn't make sense to me.

Please help me understand this.

Thanks!

Actually both are increased.
    If you want 2 day autonomy while only discharging your panels 20% you would multiply the daily load by 10.
    For the panels you would need to increase their size also. By how much depends on where the system is located and how much sun it will get at the worst time of year.
    NABCEP certified Technical Sales Professional

[URL="http://www.solarpaneltalk.com/showthread.php?5334-Solar-Off-Grid-Battery-Design"]http://www.solarpaneltalk.com/showth...Battery-Design[/URL]

[URL]http://www.calculator.net/voltage-drop-calculator.html[/URL] (Voltage drop Calculator among others)

[URL="http://www.gaisma.com"]www.gaisma.com[/URL]

Comment

Originally posted by raisnhell View Post
      While designing an off-grid system with autonomy, why do we only increase the battery size and not the number of panels? For a 2 day autonomy, for example, we double the batteries, but leave the number of panels the same.
      Generally you increase both.