Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DIY panels to charge a 36v battery bank

hi there.
    so, im new to the idea solar power and struggling to get my head round a few things.

my initial idea is to run my computer and two 42" tvs off of a UPS, using extra batteries for extended runtime. to charge the batteries i was planning to make my own panels.

i stumbled upon someone selling poly cells that claim they are 2.4v @500ma does this sound right for a 66mm x 66mm sized cell?

so, i figured 6 cells in series would give me 14.4v @500ma if i were to charge a 12v battery

i also checked out a commercial 12v "trickle charger" panel and that appears to give out 20v

would this mean that i would need to match the voltage (20v) with my cells setup to charge a 12v battery?

Depending on the AH rating of your UPS battery you will need about 1/10th the Ah to charge it. I doubt 6 cells will generate what you want.

First off building your own solar panel may be a fun (or not) project but no matter how low the cost for the cells you end up not getting a reliable panel. Most fail due to moisture getting in and shorting the circuit or breakage of the cells. They also may not produce the voltage you expect regardless of what they are rated based on resistance in the circuit wiring.

A 12volt battery requires at least 16 volts or more to charge. A "12 volt" commercial solar panel is usually rated about 17 to 18vDC which is a good match with a charge controller. Without a charge controller you may either over or under charge a battery.

For your small system a low cost PWM type CC will work. But I would recommend sizing your panel wattage based on the battery Ah rating.

Comment