Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Blitzgreen
    • Sep 2015

Hello some basic circuit advice please

Im new to learning about Solar and circuits i have a basic understanding.
    Basically i bought a 30000mah solar battery bank which was rubbish 4 leds would contantly flash for non charge or in series when charging. I opened it and it only had 2 5000mah 3.7v li on batteries

I want to make a circuit where the solar cell will charge the battery and power a 3 to 4.5 volt motor in the day time and have the battery power the motor as much as possible through the night. I understand i need some sort of resistor to stop the battery from sending power back to the solar cell but would 10000mah power a small motor for 12+ hours? Is there anything else i need?
  • Naptown
    Solar Fanatic
    • Feb 2011

The resistor you mention is actually a blocking diode.
    NABCEP certified Technical Sales Professional

[URL="http://www.solarpaneltalk.com/showthread.php?5334-Solar-Off-Grid-Battery-Design"]http://www.solarpaneltalk.com/showth...Battery-Design[/URL]

[URL]http://www.calculator.net/voltage-drop-calculator.html[/URL] (Voltage drop Calculator among others)

[URL="http://www.gaisma.com"]www.gaisma.com[/URL]

Comment

• PNjunction
      Solar Fanatic
      • Jul 2012

Originally posted by Blitzgreen
      Is there anything else i need?
      To be brutally honest, you'll need more than just junk solar toy hardware. One or more of those li-ion batteries are toast already, and if you don't know how to measure or differentiate between good and bad, just stop.

The first step is to use a multimeter or motor specification to find out how much current the motor draws. Then you'll multiply that by the time in hours you intend to operate as a first step.