Need help deciding how to do this project a few questions about wiring configuration

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • FireMedic356
    • Feb 2012

Need help deciding how to do this project a few questions about wiring configuration

Hi i am totally new to this forum and to solar power in general. i have some basic electrical knowledge and a high mechanical ability. so i am looking into making a solar array for my roof top. i am still in the planning phase. i am thinking about using a ul certified aluminum frame and recycled tempered glass out of a high security storm door. i realize i will get energy loss in the glass but it is the only practical solution i can came up with on my budget. and i plan of using a epoxy sealer such as slygard or similar product to encapsulate the cells. let me get some thing out in the open here. i am building this system to be a grid tie system for the sole purpose of reducing my electric bill by 30-60 dollars per month and for the experience of building a system that can save the planet ( lol ) and a small amount of money. i dont have any grand ideas that i am going to go off the grid or that i will save tons of money. but i do expect to be able to build a fairly durable and safe panel for less than i could buy one. with that said if i could find professional panels for the same price as i could build them i would probably just buy them and do the rest of the system myself. 1. so if anyone knows where i can get panels to equal aprox 1kw for 800-900 dollars that i am planning on building my panels with i would be interested and would appriciate any help or suggestions... ok on to the purpose of this post. i am planning on using 3x6 cells and building a panel of aprox 120 cells in a 10 rows x 12 rows configuration ( that is what should fit closely to my glass size that i am using to build the frame around) 2. my question is how do you suggest i wire the cells my ultimate goal is to make the total output at 18v and i am not exac