X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mikejh
    • Aug 2011

Solar system review

Hey guys,

I am pretty new to solar, and this is going to be my first large setup and I wanted to know your oppinion/reccomendations for it.

I am using it to run several appliances. Refrigerator/freezer ect.

My draw is about 2.8KW, or 240AH per 24hrs.

My setup is as follows:

(4) grape solar 240W monocrystalline panels
    (1) Instapark MPPT 50A charge controller
    (6) Rolls surrette S-1590 2V batteries
    (1) AIMS 5000watt power inverter (modified sine wave)

Should I get a in-line fuse, in addition to the one in the inverter? Also, the inverter has a battery voltage indicator, and the charge controller has a charge indicator. Should I also get a charge indicator to mount in the house, or is checking the charge controller/inverter going to be fine? My draw is quite low, so I am not expecting much more than 40% DOD.

I am making a tracking mount for the panels, which are located on the western central Washington border. We are at a pretty high elevation, and get quite a bit of sun.

If you could give me your suggestions and tips, it would be appretiated!

Michael
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

whoa !! Stop !!

4, 240W panels, is only 960W x 5 hours = 4800w
    If you REALLY get 5 hours of usable sun, this may barely work. Rule of thumb with battery systems, with all losses added up, you need to harvest 2x your consumption, to be ballanced.

Taking batteries to 40% discharge, daily, will give you a very short battery life (2 years if lucky). 7 year life is based on 20% discharge.

Mod-sine inverter & motors = early motor failure, and an additonal 20% extra power consumption over nameplate usage.
    Last edited by Mike90250; 08-01-2011, 12:00 PM.