Wiring help??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wiring help??

I bought 2 small (3"x4") solar panels for a model satellite project, in hopes to power a couple little LED's on it. The solar panels were extremely cheap, but I figured it was worth the chance. I've measured the voltage and amperage output at 5V and 160mA and .8 W each, but every time I try wiring it up to a light (or anything electric for that matter), it won't do anything. The panels didn't come with any wiring, just 2 spots on the back to solder on wires. Do I need an inverter? And if so, what size? I'm new to solar power, so trying to figure out how to make this thing work. Help!!

Solar panels are typically used in the sun, is this what you plan to do and would you still be able to see an LED in the sun? Or are you planning to charge an internal battery in the sun and bring it inside to run an LED?

Or are you planning to keep it inside and shine a light on it to simulate the sun?

It sounds like a fun project, especially for teaching kids a little about solar and satellites. It sounds similar to a solar pathway light, maybe you could rob some parts from one, or at least see how they are made and copy the design with a lower-power LED. A typical small LED would take around 5-20 mA.

Comment

I plan on having it inside with a light powering it. The power output readings I referenced were taken inside with the same lighting. Would it be better to wire them to charge a battery/batteries vs. just wiring them up directly to the LED?

Comment

Originally posted by cenny657 View Post
        I plan on having it inside with a light powering it. The power output readings I referenced were taken inside with the same lighting. Would it be better to wire them to charge a battery/batteries vs. just wiring them up directly to the LED?
        I think that would be cool, because you could move it behind the "earth" and still have power.