Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mooseofterror
    • Feb 2014

Emergency Grid-Tie Usage

Complete newbie to the forum and solar, really just looking for suggestions. I'm sure the question has been asked before, but I didn't find the answer I was looking for so...

5kW grid-tie system, no batteries installed, want to explore the possibility of using my solar panels in an EMERGENCY. Not looking to power my entire house, just very basic necessities should the need arise. was wondering if it is possible to install a transfer switch between the panels and inverter so I could isolate the panels form the grid-tie inverter and then use a charge controller to charge batteries and run an inverter ? Feasible? another possibility? Do not want to mess with tricking the inverter to think the grid is still alive.

I would not being doing this project myself, but I have access to electrical engineers in my family to make sure it is done correctly. Rural setting, house is off the ground, so I can "hide" the transfer switch, etc easily...

Sorry if I offend anyone and thanks for any help!
  • Sunking
    Solar Fanatic
    • Feb 2010

No offense taken and none offered. Only way to have emergency power during outages is to install a whole house generator. Have a nice day.
    MSEE, PE

Comment

• mooseofterror
      • Feb 2014

As in a gas generator? I have one of those as well, but I'm not talking about a thunderstorm power outage. Thanks though...

Comment

• inetdog
        Super Moderator
        • May 2012

Hey Moose,

To expand a bit on what Sunking offered, using batteries with solar charging for infrequent power failures is waste of money, since your batteries will need maintenance and will lose life just sitting there.
        It is really painful to see the panels just sitting there unused during the day when the power is off, but as a practical matter there are currently no good solutions to that except to understand why and ignore the pain.