X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • kronic24601
    • Nov 2016

Solar Help!! | Panel and Inverter questions

So, I apologize if this is a seemingly simple question but I'm going to ask anyway. I've been back and forth on options and I was about the pull the trigger when I realized that my plans had some holes in it. Hoping someone can set me straight.

Notes:
    • I had a layout plan of about 28 panels (60 cell) on my roof.
    • I have a 200 amp panel (200 amp main breaker)
    • I consume about 15,510 kWh per year (pool, AC, big house, etc.)
    • I wanted, ideally, a system rated just under 10 kWh.

Question 1: In my county (Los Angeles), there is a simplified permit check and a standard (comprehensive). Ideally I'd go through the simplified one as I'm not a licensed electrician (owner builder). One requirement for simplified is that the module ISC must be lower than 9.6 Amps. However, at least for STC rating, it seems that a lot of the higher wattage modules are all over this annoyingly. (SUnmodule 290/300 mono, LG 300+ etc... I've only found one that isn't ... "Solaria POwerXT 330"). As you can see, I was hoping to have a module with a high efficiency rating. --- Is this common in other areas? It seems strange to me as so many modules have a higher rating. Does anyone know if I can use the NOCT rating instead? These all have a lower ISC and could be allowed? I can follow up with my building and safety but curious how it's done elsewhere. (no where on the plan check does it specify STC vs NOCT) ... it just says "from module nameplate", but I'm not sure what would be stamped on the module plate does anyone know?

Question 2: As I stated, I would like to have a 28 panel design -- however this appears to be a problem again. If I assume two circuit branches that's 14 panels per branch (string).
    • Microinverter -- I was considering Enpahse IQ6+ -- This only allows 13 per string as per the documentation here.