Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Steve
    • Aug 2009

Starting off small scale

I've been interested in PV solar power for a very long time. I have some electronic skills- I've built a lot of pre-fab various electronic kits (Amplifier modules etc) and designed a number of scratch built "Breadboard" analog and digital projects.

I'm not a licensed electrician but have done a lot of large scale commercial/residential wiring projects working along side professional electricians.
    I have a more than usual knowledge of electronics in general but also respect and aware of my own limitations.

With that said, I'd like to convert as much of my home to PV as reasonably possible starting with smaller projects and work my way up to more useful power.

Today marks the 1st day of my PV beginning. I ordered 72 multi crystalline cells with tab wire and flux pen from EBay and hope to build two useful panels. This is the specs of each cell:

Average Power (Watts): 1.8 W
    Average Current (Amps): 3.6 Amps
    Average Voltage (Volts): 0.5 V

I'd like to construct the panels to last a long time. Is there any problem with plexiglass turning cloudy with age?

I hope to start off small, experimenting what works and what doesn't. My first project after building the panel is a solar powered alarm clock.
    My clock currently runs off 120v but like most every small appliance uses an internal step down transformer to drop the voltage to low levels. It would take me a very short time to cheaply modify it for low voltage low current DC.

There are a lot of DIY charge controller circuits I'd like to experiment with.

Maybe I am way off base here, but I'd like to convert as many appliances (lights, fans etc) in a single room for efficient DC, eventually feeding the entire room.
    Once one room is finished, I'd begin with the next expanding my PV system... and so it goes.

So I've started the ball rolling today and will be starting my 1st panel construction next week.