Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • computerpc101
    • Dec 2011

Grid tied inverter 110V VS 220V ?

I am a beginner for Grid tied inverter, In My Area, Solar panels is a wasting money project.

I am still confuse that Why some cheap Grid tied inverter with 110V output? you can plug in wall (110V) directly as you can see on Utube video. and Some are 220 Volts which need extra wiring to 3 phase power box.

My question is that
    1). If I am using revisable net meter, Will 110 Volts model work?
    2). If I am using revisable net meter, Will 220 Volts model work?
    3). For basic UP inverter design, Is 110 Volts model has slightly higher effective then 220V model?
    4). For 1.5KW and below application, Which one work better and why?
    5). For 5KW application, Which one work better and why?
  • Sunking
    Solar Fanatic
    • Feb 2010

It does not matter, those plug-in inverters cannot be installed in any code compliant manner.

Any UL1741 listed inverter will likely be 240 volts for single phase system. There are some Hybrid inverters that operate at 120 volts, but we will not go there. But to answer all your questions is Dr Georg Ohm and his twelve laws most notable Power = Voltage x Current
    MSEE, PE

Comment

• russ
      Solar Fanatic
      • Jul 2009

If anyone can provide documentation for a UL1741 listed 120V inverter we would like to see the UL paper.

The term has to be UL listed - UL compliant is a meaningless term used to confuse people.

In the engineering world things are generally digital - meaning yes or no - so far the 120 volt inverters are on the no side. In the green world and on youtube things are fuzzy, meaning they are what people want them to be.

Russ
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Comment

• peakbagger
        Solar Fanatic
        • Jun 2010