Enter Zipcode

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Inverter shutdown due to overvoltage from panels in cold temperatures

  1. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Annapolis Md
    Posts
    6,238

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KeithOT View Post
    Hi John
    The spec for the inverter clearly states that the maximum input is 4200W which is 200W more than my panels maximum output. It is rare that panels actually produce their specified output 85% is considered the norm, conditions have to be exactly as the test spec to come anywhere near the 100% figure. That said it would be interesting to see what the actual output is in bright sun with an ambient temperature of 5 deg Celsius or less the voltage is high, current? maximum wattage? can it exceed the rated output in these conditions. The Inverter spec shows that the output to grid falls to zero at 580V DC input.
    Actually I'm surprised you haven't fried your inverter from over voltage. As far as design goes how are the modules configured string wise. what modules and inverter do you have maybe we can come up with a solution. or simply add a Tigo system which will do the same thing and allow for individual monitoring of modules.
    Rich
    WWW.solarsaves.net

    NABCEP certified Technical Sales Professional

    http://www.solarpaneltalk.com/showth...Battery-Design

    http://www.calculator.net/voltage-drop-calculator.html (Voltage drop Calculator among others)

    www.gaisma.com

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Mumbles, Swansea South Wales UK
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Naptown View Post
    Actually I'm surprised you haven't fried your inverter from over voltage. As far as design goes how are the modules configured string wise. what modules and inverter do you have maybe we can come up with a solution. or simply add a Tigo system which will do the same thing and allow for individual monitoring of modules.
    Well............
    The installation company have just visited & modified the arrangement they seem a bit coy over what they have done they have split the strings & now I have 2 additional cables & a second DC isolator but the were unable to reconfigure the Inverter as the display has blanked so now I get a new inverter tomorrow.... At the moment I am just running on 1 string until the changeover not a problem as the weather is dull & cloudy.
    The original arrangement was 2 strings of 8 x 250W Sunrise SolarTech (Chinese) monocrystalline panels mounted on a south facing 45 deg roof, inverter is a power one Aurora PVI-3600-UK loft mounted. I have a remote monitor that works from a pulse sensor mounted on my generation meter it is a Solo PV Display manufactured by GEO (Green Energy Options Ltd) it displays the power generating in real time & the total for the day it stores the info on an SD memory card which you can download to their program installed on my PC. A neat unit supplied by my installer as part of the package. This problem is costing them some cash as they had to erect scaffolding to access the roof.

  3. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Annapolis Md
    Posts
    6,238

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KeithOT View Post
    Well............
    The installation company have just visited & modified the arrangement they seem a bit coy over what they have done they have split the strings & now I have 2 additional cables & a second DC isolator but the were unable to reconfigure the Inverter as the display has blanked so now I get a new inverter tomorrow.... At the moment I am just running on 1 string until the changeover not a problem as the weather is dull & cloudy.
    The original arrangement was 2 strings of 8 x 250W Sunrise SolarTech (Chinese) monocrystalline panels mounted on a south facing 45 deg roof, inverter is a power one Aurora PVI-3600-UK loft mounted. I have a remote monitor that works from a pulse sensor mounted on my generation meter it is a Solo PV Display manufactured by GEO (Green Energy Options Ltd) it displays the power generating in real time & the total for the day it stores the info on an SD memory card which you can download to their program installed on my PC. A neat unit supplied by my installer as part of the package. This problem is costing them some cash as they had to erect scaffolding to access the roof.
    I just looked up your modules and the only way to get that kind of voltage is to have one string of 16
    Rich
    WWW.solarsaves.net

    NABCEP certified Technical Sales Professional

    http://www.solarpaneltalk.com/showth...Battery-Design

    http://www.calculator.net/voltage-drop-calculator.html (Voltage drop Calculator among others)

    www.gaisma.com

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Mumbles, Swansea South Wales UK
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Naptown View Post
    I just looked up your modules and the only way to get that kind of voltage is to have one string of 16
    Very strange they were definitely wired in 2 strings of 8 I do wonder if the inverter had a fault the display has never worked properly. by the same token the installers have had a similar problem with one or two other installations. So I remain puzzled but as the installation is only 2 months old it is up to my installers to fix it.

  5. #15
    Solar Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Orange County NY
    Posts
    359

    Default

    You need the software disk and a laptop to configure the Aurora at startup to accept the 2 strings and configure the display.
    I had a PVI 3000 us installed alongside an SMA SB3800 and the daily output was significantly lower than the SMA, so I had my installer swap it out as it was not the inverter that they had specified in my contract. Both strings produced the same out put per day following the swapout.

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Mumbles, Swansea South Wales UK
    Posts
    11

    Default New Inverter

    Well they came today & installed a new inverter, another Aurora but this time it is a PVI-3.6-OUTD-GB same spec as original but an outdoor model. Weather is very dull wet & 10 Deg Celsius so output is minimal 0.02kW at the moment 2.30PM. Probably won't get any more cold bright sunny days now to test the set up.

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    1

    Default inverter shuts down

    Quote Originally Posted by Naptown View Post
    Wired like this
    Mine is 3000 w does the same

  8. #18

    Default Over Voltage due to Panels

    I have heard from one of my friend that on one the project in India the DC over voltage protector at the same inverter has blasted off..
    This is 1,000 V DC protector. The module voltage as per data sheet is 44.5 V and 21 module string should produce 934 Volts but a 10% change due to tolerance will take it to 1,027 Volts.
    Can anybody let me know what would be the issue?

  9. #19
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    off grid retirement in Northern Calif
    Posts
    8,209

    Default

    In cold weather (chill mornings usually) panel voltages rise quite a bit, a 900V array will produce over 1200V, so the engineering was not done properly for the system.

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    5

    Default Very useful Voltage Calculator from Victron Energy

    Play with this very useful calculator from Victron, the model chosen doesn't matter, what you really want to look at is how cold temperatures effect voltages

    redirect deleted:
    http://hybridpowersupply.com/blog/sd...ge-calculator/
    Seriously, why are people using URL shorteners for commercial links? The forum SW minimizes the long URL, and just clicking makes it work.
    I use one in my .sig to turn the cryptic Facebook urn into english.
    solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    Moderator
    Last edited by Mike90250; 04-15-2015 at 01:52 AM. Reason: remove redirect

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •