X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mattro
    • Oct 2011

Newbie questions building emergency power setup.

I am new to solar. I have researched some but have some basic questions.

I am wanting to build my first solar system to be used primarily as emergency power in the event of long term power outage to charge cell phones, recharge AA batteries, run small dc tv and radios, laptop, etc. I have to do this on a very tight budget and not throw money away with mistakes or have a system that has costly annual upkeep.

For the first panel, I am considering an Instapark 30w mono for around $128 off Amazon. I considered a cheaper Amorphous panel, but I am limited on full sun space on my roof and I like the higher efficiency of the mono over time.

For the controller, I know a small simple controller will handle this panel (and more panels later), but my concern is I want a meter to know the charging current (how the panel(s) is performing) and the status of my batter bank. Therefore it makes sense to buy a controller with meter built in. This has me looking at something like the "Sunforce 60031 10 Amp Digital Charge Controller (mixed reviews)", or the "30 AMP SOLAR CHARGE CONTROLLER by Missouri wind and solar (not sure it shows charging current)". Am I thinking smart, or would I be better with a bulletproof controller like the "SunSaver 10 Charge Controller 12V 10A" and install various meters for charging current and battery bank charge? I will enjoy accurately monitoring how the system produces and reacts so having something more than a blinking light for charging and a green light for fully charged is important to me. It may be important for the controller to handle AGM batteries, I am not sure.