Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • eric@psmnv
    • Sep 2015

Cheapo Inverters vs. Expensive Ones

I know the old saying, you get what you pay for. Often that's true but sometimes it isn't. Sometimes all you get for your extra money is a name.

I'm brand new to all this stuff, so have mercy. I went looking for off-grid kits and found several featuring a Magnum MS4448PAE 4400 W 48 VDC pure sine wave inverter at a cost of around $2200. I've found a number of vendors selling seemingly equivalent inverters (same specs, at least) for $500-700, such as this one...

Bulk Buy Turn 7 & Racing Games Online From Chinese Suppliers On Dhgate.com. Get Deals With Coupon And Discount Code! Source High Quality Products in Hundreds Of Categories Wholesale Direct From China.

Would a cheapo inverter like this work for those of us who must cut every conceivable corner to build something on a shoestring budget? Heck, I could buy two of them and just keep one as a standby and still save $1000.

What am I missing here?
  • jflorey2
    Solar Fanatic
    • Aug 2015

Originally posted by eric@psmnv.com
    What am I missing here?
    Well, one obvious thing is that the inverter can't possibly work at those power levels. 10,000 watts/12 volts at 90% efficiency is 925 amps. There is no way the terminals on that inverter - or even the internal wiring - will handle that current. Even at 5000 watts you are at 462 amps, which nothing sane will handle.

What you will likely get is an inverter that will give you about a thousand watts of modified sine wave power - if your battery can support it.
    Would a cheapo inverter like this work for those of us who must cut every conceivable corner to build something on a shoestring budget?
    If you are really looking for a "cheapo" inverter, try something like a Prosine 1800. It will give you 1800 watts (for real) of real sine wave and you can pick one up for about $300 used on Ebay.

Comment

• lkruper
      Solar Fanatic
      • May 2015