X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JBinCBad
    • Dec 2014

Yet Another SD Install 4.5Kw LG 300's SE 5000 in La Costa CA

So after 10 months of hesitation and reluctance, I signed the contract last week to have a 4.5Kw system installed in my home. Went with a reputable installer that many others on the board have used and respected (Thanks Subdriver, TheJq, and Sensij), and have a similar system with LG 300's,and SE 5k inverter. Had my entire roof re-done, and they put in the stand-offs last week before the new tile was laid.

Since I took so long to pull the trigger, I did notice the price/watt slowly decrease with time, which made me reluctant to commit, since it seems to be consistently dropping, and the technology gets better and more efficient. However, I also realized that in the past 10 months, I have paid an electrical bill and polluted the earth more than the slight price delta, so figured gotta jump in at some point. I'm a Realtor and an attorney, and I've constantly recognized the value of an owned system, and the detriment of a leased system or a PPV agreement, so felt it was a good investment to make.

I have a good S/SW facing roof over my garage, which has very little (if any) shading. My SDGE bill is between $150-$200/month, so I'm hoping to stay in tier 1, with the possibility of covering over 80% of my useage. EV's may be in the future, but expandability of my system is somewhat limited by roof space.

I'll update as I go, but looking forward to the slow recoupment of my investment, and hopefully a quick permit, install and tie-in process.

Thanks again to the board for the opinions, suggestions and referrals. This is an evolving enterprise and its great to have a resource to learn before making a big investment.

Cheers,
    Joel
  • max2k
    • May 2015

Originally posted by JBinCBad