X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • curious_me
    • Jan 2015

Just New - Charger Calculation - Need Help

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Solar and have just registered on this site hoping someone could guide me to the right path.

First of all I'm planning to build this project as my permanent power source.

I'm looking at 6pcs x 2v 500AH Deep cycle battery in series to have a total of 12v 3000AH Battery Bank.
    My questions are:

1. What is the rating (in Amp) the Charge Controller that I would need to charge this battery bank for 6 hours ?
    I can only see Charge controller on the web from 10Amp to 40Amp.

2. How many watts of paralleled Solar Panel in (100watts each) would I need to accomplish the charging mentioned in # 1 ?
    Would the Charge Controller accommodate these wattage ?

Thanks in advance.
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

The wattage needed to charge the massive 12v battery array is likely going to force you to 2, 60A charge controllers. $$$$
    It would be better to wire this array in series and get a 48V battery that just 1 controller $$ can charge.

12V @ 3,000ah = 36000wh **
    36000wh @ 48V = 750Ah which is still a pretty large battery.

You want to deliver at least 10% of your rated Ah, as charging current to the batteries. 15% is better for the tall batteries to keep the electrolyte stirred up and de-stratified.

So, for that 12v bank, that would want 300A, which would be 5 charge controllers.
    At 48V, it would be 75A, needing just 2 controllers.

The size of the array will vary according to your daytime loads that will consume power before it gets to charging the batteries, so maybe figure the 15% of battery AH capacity.

Battery systems are only about 50% efficient, end to end, so if you consume 3Kw daily, you need to harvest 6Kw.

Daytime length is also a factor, the further north you are, the less sun hours, so you need to compensate with a larger array, or plan on running a generator 4x a week to keep the batteries up above 50%.