Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need Help setting up a Small Solar Electric system.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Help setting up a Small Solar Electric system.

Hi, I have a Shed that i built that is storing some equipment, I had asked a similar question before but with a slightly different set up in mind. A few of you guys suggested a battery solar system.

Can you guys please list all the parts I would need to make a small system work,
    Battery, Controllers, Panels, wires and what not.

I am only looking to power 4-6 Battery tender JR ( Hooked to the machinery), and maybe one or two small lights, Lights would be very short use and infrequent, Battery tenders would be 24/7. I am not looking for the best and most expensive, Just looking for a lower maintenance reliable system.

I am not sure the best way to do this as I am not sure it makes sense to go from 12 V to 120 ( Tender ) back to 12 V (battery on the machine)
    I am new to all this and would just like to not have to run a power line to the location as it is not the most convenient, I run a long heavy extension cord out there for the winter but remove it in the spring as it runs though my yard.Thank you

P.S I know nothing about this so please feel free to offer all of your knowledge.

My first thought is a handful of ebay used shipping PV panels, used in VW cars while being shipped across oceans.
    Lots of them in the $22 ballpark. Coleman also has a larger, 6w model, but the type of panel has about a 5 year life. VW Solar Panel Car Battery Trickle Charger

Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||