X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • john p
    Solar Fanatic
    • Oct 2010

Fuel cells

Its a know fact that the effeciency of fuel cells is very low. I have had some experience with fuel cells and ended up thinking wat a waste of effort . At work we have now a few cells to experiment with but the amount of electricity used compared to the available output has to be seen to be believed. its really that low..
    But there has to be something going for them..
    My reason for this statement is When a company like Mercedes Benz is investing heavily in fuel cell technology you just have to take notice.. Mercedes Benz are smart opperators and dont do something for no good reason.
    I coppied this article from a review of some of the highlights of a recent Germany auto show.

The Mercedes-Benz F125 is a research vehicle, a distillation of different technologies being developed by the German automaker. Mercedes-Benz says the F125 represents what cars could look like in 15 years, two generations of vehicle development. The F125 is driven by electric motors at each wheel, getting electricity from a fuel cell stack and lithium sulfate battery pack.

The drive system for the F125 builds on Mercedes-Benz's extensive research into hydrogen fuel cell technology. The car has high strength hydrogen cells integrated into its body shell. These feed a fuel cell stack that converts hydrogen to electricity for the wheel-mounted electric motors. There is also a lithium sulfate battery pack, new technology being researched by Mercedes-Benz, to capture regenerative braking energy. This drive system gives the F125 a range of more than 600 miles.

Certainly an impressive range figure 600 miles.

So is there a future in energy storage for fuel cells??
  • Sunking
    Solar Fanatic
    • Feb 2010

Originally posted by john p