X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • SolarFuture
    • Nov 2015

The Case for a Significantly Undersized System with Time-of-Use Billing

I am in my second year on my system, closing in on the second year of my relevant period. We leased an EV back in May 2015 so this is the first full year with an EV (although we charge about 60% at work, at 40% at home).

I have West-facing panels on SCE TOU A. I've done some spreadsheet calculations using PVWatts and although you may take a roughly 17% hit in annual energy production as compared to South-facing, the annual monetary hit is closer to just 5% if you're on a TOU rate that with a "late" peak period, such as SCE TOU A (peak is 2pm - 8pm). In short, payback period for West-facing can be very, very close to South-facing.

In any case, our system is very small. 8x 315W panels, 2,520W (LG NeON 2). We charge the EV at super off-peak times only (effectively 4 cents / kWh after taking into account the baseline credit), while we generate at close to 40 cents / kWh. That's a 10:1 ratio for on-peak credits to super-off-peak debits. For every 1 kWh we generate in the day time, we can charge the EV 10 kWh and be a net zero.

To summarize how effective this is, I've attached our true up at month 11 of 12 of the relevant period.

Screen Shot 2018-01-25 at 11.43.25 AM.png

I think it speaks for itself, but I'll summarize anyway

Our panels generated approximately 3,840 kWh of energy in the last year. We used up an extra 2,288 kWh from SCE (net consumer of energy). Our balance is a credit $60, and I expect to get a refund of approximately $40 due to the Climate Credits counting as "real money". (If want to get technical and you don't count the Climate Credits, we are paying approximately $45 for 2,288 kWh of energy, or less than 2 cents / kWh.)